“poetry forever”

I remember the moment
I gave up
poetry forever.

Clicking through the
latest online issue
of a ‘zine,
looking for
my submission
like anyone seeks
their own face
first
in a group photo,
I stumbled across a different poem
I’d written
that I didn’t remember writing.

It was clever, edgy, spritely, etc., dancing like a weapony ballerina
sober on sunlight and pink socks.

I loved it
like anyone loves
their own kid
most
in a school play,
except
my poem was over there
and the one I thought I’d written was written
by someone else.

I didn’t need a DNA test to know
my words were
nothing
if some random asshole could Xerox
“my” madness
“my” fingerprints
“my” unique turds
so much
I thought they were mine.

So I walked away from
poetry forever,
it was easy,
I didn’t love anyone
and still don’t.

The gods had found a replacement
for a replacement
and now that that was settled
I could concentrate on my first love:
jerking off.

Trouble is,
no one can tell the difference
between poetry
and
jerking off.

Which is fine,
there’s no money
in either.

One Response to ““poetry forever””

  1. motel todd Says:

    Man, that’s the truth! I was drawn to free verse poetry because it was a way (sometimes clever way depending on the writer) of getting your thoughts out without having to worry about English grammar and spelling much. It’s also cheaper than a shrink.

Leave a Reply

